·  News ·  Travel ·  Food ·  Arts ·  Science ·  Sports ·  Advice ·  Religion ·  Life ·  Greensboro · 

Lost Civilization Of Winston-Salem : Pull-A-Part

by shannon | Published on August 27th, 2009, 10:17 am | Greensboro
pull-a-part-winston.jpg

I discovered treasure in my archeological excavations! I was wandering the large field of ancient history, rummaging through lives of the past. I encountered dangerous natives and ferocious creatures. It was hot and the humidity almost unbearable, but my discoveries made it all worth while. As a scientist I am intrigued by the lives time has almost forgotten. In this grand place of mystery what are the stories these relics hold?
As Liv was fighting the battle of the "mission for brakes" at the pull-your-part in Winston- Salem, I was on a scavenger hunt of my own. Despite my best efforts, Liv was operating alone in this vast field of forgotten dreams. I set out on a search which uncovered the "secret lives of the junkyard".
I meandered from car to car unlocking the secrets from within. It was fun! I discovered, as you may imagine, lots of trash. But I was surprised to find things of value. I found about ten cassette tapes. Three titles include: "Queen", "Flashdance", and the "Steve Miller Band's Greatest Hits". I uncovered a Faith Hill cd and an "Ice Age" dvd. There were pens, pencils, toys, backpacks, stuffed animals, markers, food, drinks and lots of condiment packages. I did decide that if I become homeless, these yards are great for finding money. The natives of this land are all about ripping parts off the doors and engines. It was I who made the greatest discovery! Change! No one thinks of opening those tiny holders for coins, sun visors and peeking ever so carefully into the glove compartments. I could not believe the amount of sliver change I found: dollars worth.

pull_your_part_salvage.jpg