Originals WTF? La Culture Geekery WWJD? The South Blog

Thoughts on Gore and global warming

All things awesome.

Postby SouthernFriedInfidel » Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:08 pm

Had an interesting discussion after church last weekend with a fellow who played Santa at a Chrismas Eve event I attended at a local homeless shelter. We were talking about how change, in general, can be painful, but often necessary. I mentioned the strange (to me) case of people who resist the idea of making changes in humanity's use of fossil fuels to cut into the problem of global warming. This really got "Santa" going. What follows is, as best I can recall, his statements on the subject:

1) When I was in college, I studied climatology, so I know about this subject. We studied the data at hand then, and we determined, based purely on NATURAL, KNOWN PROCESSES, that Earth's climate was going to warm up at the end of the 20th century.

2) There's nothing wrong, per se, with reducing use of natural resources, but what I object to is how Al Gore is trying to scare Americans into this, while he plans to make himself rich through investments in "alternative energy" technologies.

3) Did you know that Mt. St Helen's and other recent volcanic eruptions injected more carbon dioxide and other chemicals into the atmosphere than all of human activity for the entire course of history COMBINED?

At the time, I decided not to challenge his statements, partly because I'm no expert on the subject, mostly because I sensed a good chance that Santa might get a bit emotional, which would have fouled up the evening for many friends. I've been pondering this conversation since then, and have a few ideas on how to respond...

1) I wonder how quantitative his class's analysis of the climate change was, and whether this fellow had actually checked the predictions his class made for accuracy.